Saturday Sci-Fi

Today I’m dedicating this post to Stephen Baxter. Baxter in my opinion is the successor to Sir Arthur C. Clarke in the realm of hard science- science fiction. In fact, the two have collaborated on some stories the past few years; Time’s Eye, Sunstorm, Firstborn, and The Light of Other Days .

But I’m referring to Baxter’s own works today because he has written about beings that are classified Kardashev Type IV, which ties into what I have been talking about this past week concerning advanced alien societies and their possible ties to humans and planet Earth.

His Xeelee Sequence of novels are set into the far future and (Wikipedia clips here);

“…where humans are rising to become the second most powerful race in the universe, next to the god-like Xeelee. Character development in these stories takes second place to the depiction of advanced theories and ideas, such as the true nature of the Great Attractor, naked singularities and the great battle between Baryonic and Dark matter lifeforms. Examples of novels written in this style: Ring, Timelike Infinity.

The Xeelee are considered god-like and warlike. The Wikipedia description of them are:

 “…baryonic lords as they are known are a hyperadvanced civilisation which has existed for billions of years. Their technology far exceeds that of any other species and in many cases aquiring this technology even in crude form will give any civilsation a huge boost over others.

The xeelee are spread across the universe typicly being concentrated in the heart of galaxies where they use the black holes for their own purposes.

Baryons are real quantum particles, along with mesons, “…belong to the family of particles known as hadrons, meaning they are composed of quarks. Baryons are fermions composed of three quarks, while mesons are bosons composed of a quark and an antiquark. The quark model classification of baryons is based on this construction”.

If you can follow that, I’ll give you fifty bucks. But needless to say Baxter understands it.

Hard science sci-fi is my favorite literature and this series is good entertainment, brain stretching material and just makes you go ‘hmmm’.

Official Stephan Baxter Website with his works.

12 responses

  1. Kinda lazy today with the cutting and pasting business.

    Time now to watch ballgame and be a TV vegetable.

    I’m so naughty.

  2. Uber Highwayman | Reply

    Dad-sky, if you were naughty, you’d have checked out my last post! ;-)

    Elemental matter was an interest of mine in high school, where I was familiarized with Special Relativity and other mind-twisting concepts. At that time, a quark was considered the smallest piece of matter there is, along with their corresponding leptons.

    There was the discovery of the Mu-meson or Mu on, actually a lepton, an almost FTL particle, followed by Tachyons, which were thought not only to be FTL but millions even BILLIONS of times FTL! In fact, deceleration to ‘C’ would be their demise. That was where I started taking the theory of alternate universes seriously.

    There are many Christian denominations that advocate the existence of other worlds and civilizations, so this is not a solely secular-owned idea. In fact, if you are really up on your theology, the concept is inescapable. WE exist, therefore, THEY exist. There are scriptural inferences to that fact, but, like you, I’m lazy today and can’t be bothered looking them up!

    Because of my theological training, I consider Earth as being the least developed and technological world in the universe, being as we are ‘fallen’ and waiting for our ‘emancipation’ so to speak. No doubt there are beings and civilizations out there that could qualify for K-Type IV status, but for them to be visiting us while we’re the way we are is tantamount to us wanting to visit our poorer relatives!

    To quote you in an earlier post, when we stop killing one another, THEN maybe our more cultured and civilized space brethren will want more to do with us. (Notice I did not say when we LEARN to stop killing each other!)

    I’d like my fifty dollars in gold, please! (No fiat currency!)
    :-)

  3. It’s too dense for me.

    Tonight is game 2 of the Subway Series and hopefully, the Yankees won’t get their asses kicked again.

    Today, Sci-Fi had Alien Siege. Not bad. Fun and a perfect Satuday afternoon science fiction movie to watch while eating a hamburger.

  4. Uber-H my brother, you are da man! You’re still trying to get me to take that last step I’m refusing to take!

    If you can give me a list of those denominations, I will give that last step a lot of consideration!

    My hat’s off to you for grasping that particle theory stuff. I can understand some, but when you get down to the smaller and smaller yet particles, I get lost.

    Tachyons I knew quite a bit about, but there’s no way our present understanding can even think to discover them. Something like that must exist, because of Hubble observations, the Universe seems to be expanding faster than the speed of light at the edges!

    So WTF! Didn’t Einstein say no material object can go faster than the speed of light! Guess he might be wrong on that one!

    And that’s another thing quite a few smart people are saying (Michio Kaku being one of them); “why would K-Type III/IV beings want to visit us, it’s like us visiting the local ant-hill!”.

    So point well taken bro, I learned a lesson today!

    I think also we blew poor Christopher’s mind with this stuff, I hope he enjoyed the ballgame and his hamburger. In fact, I think the Yankees won today and I’m still watching the Red Sox and Giants game out of the corner of my eye, LOL!

    Can you take an IOU on the gold? I seem to be short on real money now. I’m a wage-slave in the United States, remember? LOL! :-)

  5. BTW, I did check your last post.

    I always did like that video! ;-)

  6. Aww, c’mon Christopher, take that plunge, we won’t pick on ya!

    That’s what UH tells me all the time! ;-)

  7. Uber Highwayman | Reply

    “Uber-H my brother, you are da man! You’re still trying to get me to take that last step I’m refusing to take!”

    Hell, no… I don’t want to burst your bubble, Jarhead! :lol:

    “If you can give me a list of those denominations, I will give that last step a lot of consideration!”

    Mine, for starters… The Seventh-day Adventists.
    Seventh-day Baptists…
    World-wide Church of God…
    Shepherd’s Rod…
    United Church…
    (I do remember some Lutheran factions that were savvy to E.T. existence)
    That’s off the top of my head… I’ll get back to you on some others.

    “Can you take an IOU on the gold? I seem to be short on real money now. I’m a wage-slave in the United States, remember? LOL!”

    NO! ;-)

  8. Uber Highwayman | Reply

    “So WTF! Didn’t Einstein say no material object can go faster than the speed of light! Guess he might be wrong on that one!”

    According to Asimov, Tachyons were anti-particles, which would be extra-dimensional. In other words, they, in theory, reach the limits of THEIR universe slowing to light-speed, whereas in OUR universe, we reach the boundary ACCELERATING to light-speed.

    So, in essence, Einstein was right. Asimov was a great believer in Einstein and his theories on Relativity. Whether or not there is any bias present there is unknown to me.

  9. Men talk! The only thing this girl understands is a movie and a hamburger! Who is buying? :)

  10. Uber Highwayman | Reply

    Dad can buy, Suzie… he owes me fifty bucks anyway!
    :lol:

    Like drive-ins?
    ;-)

  11. Hmmm, hamburgers and baseball. Perfect.

    Well, I’ll take the plunge as long as you’re there to catch me. ;-)

  12. I’m hip to the ballgame and hamburger.

    I’ll catch you as long as you don’t get fresh! LOL! ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

