ARES 1-X Re-try, Lunar Skylights and Watts on Tonnies

NASA is trying to launch the ARES 1-X test rocket again today: http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/nasatv/index.html

The window is open from 8 a.m. to 12 p.m. like yesterday.

Update: ARES 1-X launched at 11:30 a.m.

As far as I know, the mission profile was accomplished.

___

Remember H.G. Wells’ 1964 movie about insect-men in the Moon called “The First Men in the Moon?” (It was based on his 1901 novel).

The ‘Selenite’ (name for moon-people) civilization existed in vast underground (under-regolith?) caverns and tunnels. Their civilization was powered by an immense perpetual motion machine and the air was made by water (they mined the surface for it) being broke down into its basic parts; hydrogen and oxygen.

Well, according to New Scientist, a ‘skylight’ that might possibly lead to a vast tunnel system has been discovered on the Moon’s surface:

A deep hole on the moon that could open into a vast underground tunnel has been found for the first time. The discovery strengthens evidence for subsurface, lava-carved channels that could shield future human colonists from space radiation and other hazards.

The moon seems to possess long, winding tunnels called lava tubes that are similar to structures seen on Earth. They are created when the top of a stream of molten rock solidifies and the lava inside drains away, leaving a hollow tube of rock.

Their existence on the moon is hinted at based on observations of sinuous rilles – long, winding depressions carved into the lunar surface by the flow of lava. Some sections of the rilles have collapsed, suggesting that hollow lava tubes hide beneath at least some of the rilles.

But until now, no one has found an opening into what appears to be an intact tube. “There’s sort of a chicken-and-egg problem,” says Carolyn van der Bogert of the University of Münster in Germany. “If it’s intact, you can’t see it.”

Finding a hole in a rille could suggest that an intact tube lies beneath. So a group led by Junichi Haruyama of the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency searched for these “skylights” in images taken by Japan’s Kaguya spacecraft, which orbited the moon for almost two years before ending its mission in June.

Deep cave

The team found the first candidate skylight in a volcanic area on the moon’s near side called Marius Hills. “This is the first time that anybody’s actually identified a skylight in a possible lava tube” on the moon, van der Bogert, who helped analyse the feature, told New Scientist.

The hole measures 65 metres across, and based on images taken at a variety of sun angles, the the hole is thought to extend down at least 80 metres. It sits in the middle of a rille, suggesting the hole leads into a lava tube as wide as 370 metres across.

It is not clear exactly how the hole formed. A meteorite impact, moonquakes, or pressure created by gravitational tugs from the Earth could be to blame. Alternatively, part of the lava tube’s ceiling could have been pulled off as lava in the tube drained away billions of years ago.

Radiation shield

Finding such an opening could be a boon for possible human exploration of the moon (see What NASA’s return to the moon may look like).

Since the tubes may be hundreds of metres wide, they could provide plenty of space for an underground lunar outpost. The tubes’ ceilings could protect astronauts from space radiation, meteoroid impacts and wild temperature fluctuations (see Can high-tech cavemen live on the moon?).

“I think it’s really exciting,” says Penny Boston of the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology in Socorro. “Basalt is an extremely good material for radiation protection. It’s free real estate ready to be exploited and modified for human use.”

moonskylight.102809

This is most providential. First, the discovery of hydroxyl and water molecules covering most of the Moon’s surface, although only at a depth of a few centimeters (LCROSS crash “cloud” not withstanding), and now possible living spaces under the regolith.

It makes you wonder about all those ‘mysteries’ about the Moon, eh?

Found: first ‘skylight’ on the moon

___

Author commenting about a deceased author:

mactThere’s this guy I almost knew, Mac Tonnies. A fan of my books, a writer of his own (I never read After the Martian Apocalypse, his book about the “Face on Mars”, but I read some of his short fiction), and a paradoxical amalgam of UFO buff and skeptic: someone who embraced the phenomenon while rejecting the usual extraterrestrial interpretations. He was more of a those-among-us type; I understand there’s a completed book in the wings that leans heavily towards the Cryptoterrestrial model (much of his interest in my own stuff hailed from his interest in alternate types of consciousness). Mac seemed to regard his place on the fringe with wry humor, and the habitat itself with tonnes of salt.  He didn’t let any of that cramp his propensity for wild speculation. I never really knew whether he was a flake or not; I’m no expert on UFOs. But I checked the rss feed for Post-Human Blues pretty much daily, with a mixture of eagerness and trepidation: eagerness because the dude always had a shitload of cool links to cutting-edge nuggets ranging from robotics to psychoactives, and trepidation because the fucker posted so many links that I could have easily spent a couple of hours every day just following the rabbit-holes planted on Mac Tonnies’s blog. I never met the man face to face: we came within a couple of provinces of each other when he was up in Halifax a while back, but there was never really any rush because we were bound to end up at the same con at the same time at some point. I run into all of you paranormal types eventually.

Except I won’t be running in Mac Tonnies, because he’s dead. Last Thursday, in his apartment, “natural causes”.

Watts elucidates as only Watts can.

The guy’s great!

So was Mac.

Post Human

___

27 responses

  1. nice article. i think something is strange lurking there definitely:-):-) we don’t know about yet,.

  2. It’ll be a while before we go down lunar ‘rabbit’ holes Bruce.

    Wouldn’t it be great if we actually found something there?

    1. why not..?

      1. why not..?

        Maybe we already know there’s a civilization there, that’s why we haven’t been back?

        That’s according to Bara and Hoagland anyway; http://darkmission.blogspot.com/

        Notice that NASA and the elites have varying excuses not to go back?

  3. ‘A fan of my books’. Are you having a ‘coming out’ party ?
    I have to admit: time travel, multiverse/alternate ‘realities’,wormhole tech etc. are all balled up together in my mind as being better descriptions than simple ‘space travel’. While I might not get into wild math disciplines, n factor dimensions always made more sense than sticking with our limited three plus time. Didn’t the Hindu have something about 16 dimensions ?
    Anyway : sorry to hear about Mac. Even your reaction to him contributed to interesting speculations.

  4. Oops. Guess I should have read the header more closely.

    1. Thank you for thinking I had a book out J, only I wish!

      And the Hindus, they are the vestiges of an ancient advanced civilization that got destroyed in a nuclear war, so it’s easy to believe they know about 16 dimensions.

  5. I’ve thought about that. Here I exactly think what you’ve. That’s why after 1969None has landed on the moon although there was less technology at that time. I think you are influenced with david childress. I find him wrong many times. At that time Nuclear war ! Not so quite answer. He has translated wrong. As per I could study I think so.

  6. I guess you must be referring to the plains with glass deposits thousands of years old; resembling Nevada nuclear testing grounds…

  7. No opit, That’s another matter. But sure I’m fan of ancient advanced civilization. Childress has many times referred “deva” as alien race(von daniken too) but when you go into origin of them they were surely of human race and of planet earth that were letter migrated to “swarg”. I have Some details are here http://bruceleeeowe.wordpress.com/2009/06/14/ancient-hindu-technology-part-1/ . I’m going to write some more on that with reference. I think dad is understanding that.

    1. I was referring to what opit said about the glass plains of Northern India near Pakistan Bruce, pretty good evidence of nuclear blasts if you ask me!

      I never heard of Childress, but I do owe my early influence to von Daniken, he’s the one who awakened my curiousity on Fortean subjects.

      I do think more along the lines of an advanced ancient human civilization(s) than alien Bruce, but the puzzle is how old?

      1. Can’t we think some more advanced weapon than nuclear weapon? That’s pretty good evidence, sure that is. My much of thoughts match with yours. I too believe in ancient advanced civilization rather alien that are migrated to some other planets/higher dimensions. It is easy to dealt with. One reference clearly speak out a weapon that could destroy entire planet and perhaps galaxy or so. If you like I can send you. I’ve replied to your comment on my post.

  8. Oh I’m sure we can think of worse weapons than atomics if we did earlier Bruce, I have no doubt!

    1. Yeah… We’ve. Once I preferred ray weapon than rods of the gods because ray could move with velocity c and That’s good for space wars. Are you on twitter?

  9. I don’t Twitter my friend because I still don’t have any Internet at home or have a cellphone with all the bells and whistles.

    This ol’ blog is all I have during the week.

  10. Twitter is rather a ‘snort’ as I get spam ‘fans’. Mostly my Del.icio.us bookmarks are popular enough that a few social bookmarkers catch them on Twitter as they are shared even before I blog a new ‘find’…and more rely on shared bookmarks on Del.icio.us and Diigo.
    Twittering and texting aren’t things I can see well enough without glasses to bother with : certainly not in a moving vehicle! Nor am I going to pay both home service and mobile internet : especially with the way mobile either costs the Earth for the service or for bandwidth.
    Given that, I could say my blogs are all I have…although I spend time on email and social networks including Facebook.

    1. My blog is it for me J, since the only way I can communicate is at work on the computer there (here).

      They use Open DNS to block sites they deem that takes up too much bandwidth, or takes up too much employee time.

      I’m sure they monitor me, but must be they like my blog since I don’t bash the company or take up a lot of their precious time.

      And that means ‘tweets’ and emails.

  11. Interesting post is here dad2059. Although I don’t believe in such conspiracies. I think Bruceleeeowe has a great faith in such conspiracies. Well I choose to remain skeptic in that matter.

    1. One man’s conspiracy is another’s truth Mark, as I’m finding out more and more every day.

      There is more than the empiricists can touch with the five senses and less mysticism than the religious believe.

      As in all things, the truth lies in the muddy middle.

  12. ‘Politically Correct’ talk can be such nonsense : which is where Orwell’s ‘DuckSpeak’got its name : ‘meaningless quacking’.
    One part of human society that needs no particular documentation is the habit of having ‘Secret Societies’. B’Hai is a secret religion ! I know Rosicrucians. Wyccans used to keep under cover.
    Conspiracy ? What fun !
    hahahaha Wabbit.

  13. Secret societies have been around as long as this cycle of written history, probably earlier.

    Hey, the tribal shaman had to have some secrets in order to have a little power didn’t he? ;)

  14. True : but legends of ‘Crystal Technology’ and practical levitation suggest Tractor Beams or some such. Not that Psi hasn’t been postulated too…but that reeks of magic. Still…the accounts of self levitation while in a state of ‘altered consciousness’ are well documented.

  15. Hmm..Crystal Technology = Atlantis, right J?

    You might be referring to Edgar Cayce’s ‘readings’ concerning Atlantis here.

    I don’t know though, I have a hard time finding Cayce credible.

    Other sources?

  16. Atlantis, Lemuria, Mu Might have been cayce. Hey, I was nuts enough to read tons of Tuesday Lobsang Rampa ! Not to mention Paul Twitchell and lots of stuff by Wyccans like Marion Zimmer-Bradley. Fantasy wasn’t my first choice in literature..but sometimes Space Opera didn’t seem very realistic either.

  17. Yeah. I read Emmanuel Velikovsky too.

    1. Being of the same generation J, I’ve read pretty much the same stuff you have, even Velikovsky!

      The newer space opera by younger folks like Stross, Watts, Reynolds, MacDonald, Egan, et al, contain elements of Vinge’s Technological Singularity which I find refreshing, but hard to understand at times because of techno-babble. But that’s always been the case with space opera, especially American space opera (even though most of these authors are British!).

      As for Velikovsky, some of his collision theory ideas are becoming mainstream as the older crowd dies out.

      As it always is thus!

  18. Best you check out Dr. John in his Hiding Place if you haven’t yet done so. Besides being unfashionably happy with a global cooling scenario he has ideas about comets causing explosions in Earth’s atmosphere. Since they have ice as a major part of their mass I would think the evidence difficult to verify – but he’s a smart one.my.opera.com/nepmak2000/blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

