NASA News

In fairness to the American space program, which has been vilified by myself and my commenters as being too staid and unimaginative, I’m going to link to the NASA site that has the Constellation Program on it. Unbeknownst to myself, Constellation is the program that oversees all of the components of the American Manned Space Program after the shuttle fleet gets retired in 2010.

For the uninitiated, the components are; Ares booster rockets, the Orion crew capsule and various components of the Moon Lander and Moon Base(s). Most of this is old technology that is just getting a fresh coat of paint because of the price tag. At least the “technology” the elite are willing to display anyways. It seems that while certain members of the elite won’t concede any of the “high ground” to the Chinese and Russians, borrowing money for resource wars still take precident.

We could have done so much more over the past thirty some-odd years. Instead of building the first interstellar probes and already having viable colonies on the Moon and Mars, we’re just now preparing to go back to the Moon. And this is along the lines of Antarctic exploration and possible military bases, not future human migration.

Maybe Charlie Stross is right when he said that the economic aspect of human colonization of space isn’t doable, or if it’ll ever be doable. Maybe it’ll just fade into insignificance or be rendered moot if a Technological Singularity occurs. After all, a super-duper virtual reality world would probably be more appealing to people than being a “canned primate” in an hostile environment. Could this be a possible explanation to the Fermi Paradox? That’s a discussion for another day.

I’m kind of old fashioned though. I see the value of character enhancement through hard work and adversity. Being an augmented upload in a hyper-VR world might work for most people, but I consider that a cop-out. In that sense, pitiful space travel is better than no space travel.

Besides, the eleven year old kid in me hopes to be a canned primate someday.

NASA.gov

Charlie Stross’ post about space colonization

8 responses

  1. The phrase “canned primate(s)” is attributed to Charlie Stross in his novel Accelerando which is why I linked to it. The novel is about three generations of a family that lives through a technological singularity in the 21st century.

    It’s a great read and fast paced. Kinda like swallowing a hand full of yellow-jackets in the old days and chasing them down with shots of expresso.

    I wish we can do the same for NASA.

  2. Remind me never to go drinking with YOU, Marine! At least not espresso, anyway! Is that some kind of jarhead ritual, or something? 😉

    As for NASA being unimaginative, well, I think that vid by Lubo would prove otherwise. Seems they have a lot of talent when it comes to presenting their idea of reality, and aren’t shy about spending the time or your money to accomplish that!

    2010… that is an interesting date, is it not? There seems to be a lot of things terminating around that time.

    Well, the NWO control freaks like to keep us guessing. Maybe there will be a ‘revelation’ around that time… the culmination of all we’re being prepared for?

    Time will tell, I suppose.

  3. Hey, we lived hard and played hard in those days! LOL! Not that these kids now-a-days aren’t doing the same, or the equivalent.

    As for NASA, you must’ve missed my statement “At least the “technology” the elite are willing to display anyways” as the qualifier!

    The 2010-2012 time frame has been used quite often lately. To me, I’ll keep pretending I’m from Missouri. Many dates in the past have been posited as Apocalyptic.

    I’ve been accused of being stubborn as a Missouri mule (I’ve cleaned this up some) in the past. So far, it hasn’t failed me yet! 😎

  4. You are a mule-headed old leather-necked gyrene, that’s for sure! Ha-ha! No arguments, there!

    I don’t set dates as a rule, either, but “they” like to. Things don’t always work out the way “they” would like them to, either. Some lower echelon imbecile (like Duhbya) will sometimes bugger up the schedule, forcing them to regroup and make ulterior plans. That’s the trouble with running an oligarchy, you have to rely on so many underlings who are most often in the dark as to the ultimate game plan.

    I liked that video. I didn’t agree with all of it, but there were some things I wasn’t aware of in it that I find answers some questions I’ve had. I’ll email you about those.

    Stay off that espresso, hear me?

    😉

  5. A quote —> “We came so close to achieving flying disks fifty years ago, two saucers in every garage! If OTC Enterprises would have been permitted to succeed without government interference, what a Wonder World would exist today! All merchandise from factories could be beamed to customers anywhere on Earth. There would be no cars, airplanes or NASA. We would have no dependency on OIL and petrochemicals. We could take family vacations to the planets and the stars while having a safer, cleaner Earth.”

    conclusion: fossil economy has killed the antigravity future!

  6. Lubo my boy, you’re the only one more idealistic than me, and thusly, the more sad, mad and disappointed.

    I hear what you’re saying, but Tesla and Viktor Schauberger’s anti-gravity technology was shut down in the 1950s by the American military-industrial-congressional-complex, who as we all know are tools of the NWO.

    So you see, the NWO strangled the infant in the crib before it had a chance.

    Sad, but true.

  7. Dad,

    You probably already knew this but, after the Columbia disaster, and the U.S. seante hearings into NASA, we learned the space agency received less Federal dollars than did Israel.

    Yup, our unofficial 51st state got more foreign aid than did NASA’s allocation of Federal monies. Frankly, I’m surprised NASA gets anything done with their budget and endless demands by lawmakers to be accountable.

  8. Actually I wasn’t aware of that, but I’m not surprised in the least.

    Short-sightedness, greed and lust for power have always been the bane of progress. Except for wars of course.

    Wars inspire new and novel ways of killing that for some reason branches off into useful technologies.

Leave a Reply

