Hopes for the coming year

I realize many bloggers and writers are currently expressing their wishes for the new year, most of whom are more articulate and experienced than I am. I can’t resist running my visual “mouth” despite those facts. My message is a work in progress and a constantly evolving creature. In spite of being a relative new-comer to the communication media, I believe that my brand of insanity has survived the past year largely intact (with some changes). So with great optimism (or restrained pessimism) I’m going to list the possible changes and ideas I might experiment with this New Year:

  1. Another format change. One of my original goals when I was persuaded to start this venture was to eventually start an e-zine. That is still a goal. The market for e-zines has grown exponentially this decade, but the attrition rate is high. Finding a subject format that is personally satisfying with a target audience is proving to be very difficult. As most of my readers know, I started out with a political focus tinged with tinfoil hat conspiracy theories. Now my focus is more Fortean, questioning both orthodox science and religion. Politics is usually dealt with once weekly, but I treat “left” and “right” as I do science and religion. The old paradigms no longer exist. But as I have noticed, alot of the blogosphere still cling blindly to the old way. I am reminded of one of my old college professor’s messages; “The only people who like change are babies with messy diapers.”
  2. Enforcement of the “keep it clean” rule. For the most part, discourse here has been adult with logical arguments for and against a certain topic. But a few times things have gotten out of hand when it came to religion and science and partisan politics. I don’t have trouble with trolls here, but the fights were between individuals I consider friends. I try not to be a “censor” because I accuse the government of that. But these fights go off topic and get personal. I will no longer tolerate it. Most of my readers and commenters have their own blogs. If anyone feels the need to call someone stupid, blind, foolish, backward or whatever epithet comes to mind, take it to your own blog if you have one, or to the person’s blog if they have one. If nobody has a blog, email insults to each other. Any arguments that get off topic or insulting will be removed. If it doesn’t stop when I ask, I will ban the individual(s) for a period of five days. The one warning is the only warning. If I get accused of censorship, so be it. I don’t ask for much, but this will be enforced.
  3. Original writing. I might try my hand at writing fiction after a hiatus of thirty years. Be forewarned on this too, it will likely be science-fiction and Star Trek fan fiction at that. I will try to make it readable. Also I’m looking for anyone who wants to post any science-fiction stories they might have. Of course this is on a voluntary basis. I will also ask for established authors to post here. This works toward my goal of taking the blog to e-zine level possibly.
  4. Advertising banners. Possible experiment. I’m not schooled in this aspect of Internet enterprise. Any suggestions?
  5. Ideas. Any ideas that are within the stated goals here will be given due consideration as impartially as I can.
  6. Changes. Any of the above are subject to change by the site owner, me. Due to my chronic medical conditions, anything could happen, even fatally. So if there’s any postings that have a long interval, like over a month without word from me, it’s likely I don’t exist in this dimension anymore. Other than that, shit happens!

Those are my hopes and rules guys. Let’s continue to fight the good fight and make a difference using this blogosphere tool. A paradigm shift is coming, I feel it!

😎

14 responses

  1. This is the last post until after the first of the New Year.

    Time to catch up on a little personal reading!

  2. Hi dad2059…

    Although I’m a recent poster to your site without longterm exposure to its content, I must say that I like your format and varying chosen subjects. I’ve spent most of my time posting on political forums, blogs etc. , but like anything can get boring after a while.

    All I can say is steady goes the course and keep posting material that piques the imagination. My only disappointment is that you don’t have greater site participation so folks can enjoy more back and forth repartee’ about these interesting “foil hat” subjects.

    You might consider adding some advertising to your site, some banners, sidebars etc. to possibly put some bucks in your pocket. As long as advertising doesn’t become overbearing and nuisancesome, I beleive it has it’s place for compensating site hosts for their efforts.

    Wishing you, yours and fellow site participants a Happy and Successful New Year 2008…!

    Carl Nemo **==

  3. You can be a tough old bastard when you want to be, can’t ya? LOL!

    One word of advice… in case you go to that big parade square in the sky, unexpectedly… or wherever it is you old jarheads end up… you should show someone else how to access your blog and/or email, so they can post your wishes or subsequent demise to your blogging buddies… not that you’re going anywhere, anytime soon! πŸ˜‰

    I have written instructions put away concerning blogs, passwords, emails, etc. Just in case the Rothschilds or some other disgruntled individuals put a contract out on me!

    Can’t say I understand half of what ya expound on, here, or believe the other half, but it’s interesting faking it! We’ll see what else you can come up with in that demented old gyrene brain of yours!

    And Happy New Year, Dad… it’s been a pleasure fighting tyranny with ya!

  4. Revealing the antigravity technology! Nothing else matters!

  5. Thanks guys. I’m on an obvious learning curve here. So far nobody has sent any court summons or DHS goons banging down my door yet!

    Of course you can never tell what the New Year will bring.

    Which reminds me, have a happy one people.

    And keep it between the sheets…er…lines rather! 😎

  6. Happy New Year!
    I’m now in 2008 😎

  7. Happy New Year Lubo!

    Where are you at bro?

  8. Bulgaria, EU πŸ™‚

  9. And Happy New Year to you too!
    As you may have noticed, I’m missing from my regular haunt. You think you’re tuff! Sheesh.
    Don’t ask me WTF – the office was closed for holidays and I don’t know what to think.
    While opportunity knocked, I started experimenting with Web 2.0 links : remembering how neat those RSS aggregators in the sidebar look at different places.If you have suggestions, there’s no time like the present.

  10. Bulgaria? Cool!

    Hey Lubo, say hi to opit, he’s another international fan!

    You followed the RSS feed here opit? That’s different.

    Yeah, kinda set some goals and laid down some law for the coming year. Maybe I’ll hit the bigtime!

    Hope you have a good New Year Opit my man!

  11. Hi dad!

    I’m here, because I saw your post in centauri dreams, and there was a link, which brought me to your blog πŸ˜‰ If you weren’t there, I wouldn’t have known this forum πŸ˜‰

    Hi opit!

    You too new here? At least I’m not alone 😎

    Best wishes to all! Let the science fiction continues to turn to science fact!

  12. Opit is an old fan Lubo. He has his own blog. He’s more like a “Link-o-pedia Galactica” than a writer. His link is in the sidebar: oldephartteintraining.

    He has beaucoups links. Check’em out.

  13. Hi dad2059
    Here’s wishing you and your Inner Circle all the best for the coming year, may it be filled with much fun, joy + happiness. The days filled with much much Sun (light) and the nights filled with bright Starlight.

  14. Thank you Q. The same goes for you and your fans also.

    May you always surf the 11th dimension unmolested and the photonic cops stay off your tail! 😎

Leave a Reply

