Irwin Allen Sci-Fi

What can I say? Irwin Allen was an influence in my life before Gene Roddenberry was. My parents loathed Star Trek, for reasons I still don’t know to this day, but they would let me watch Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea on Sunday nights. I think that was because Dad liked to watch Quinn Martin’s The FBI afterward.

Allen’s other sci-fi creds are Lost In Space, Land Of The Giants and The Time Tunnel. I didn’t care for Giants much, but I was huge fan of the others. As for Allen’s disaster flicks, I’m wasn’t impressed with them, I couldn’t understand people’s penchant for wanton destruction, death and mayhem at that age.

For more info on Irwin Allen’s classic sci-fi and Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea, go to my friend Caroline’s great ezine The Thunderchild and check out all of the good stuff she has there. If you like classic sci-fi, you won’t be disappointed.

Here’s an abridged version of a Voyage episode starring Vincent Price. The clip fast-forwards through most of the good stuff, but you’ll get the gist of the plot. Enjoy.

The Deadly Dolls

]

Here is a bonus clip from Irwin’s City Beneath The Sea. I don’t know too much about this movie. Let me know what you think after you watch the clip. Maybe some of you out there actually watched the movie!

City Beneath The Sea

]

12 responses

  1. It’s hard to find complete clips of these old shows on YouTube. I think Google is cleaning off all of the good free stuff so you have to buy the DVD or the complete download.

    Aren’t they rich enough yet? 😛

  2. […] Portable Planet placed an interesting blog post on Irwin Allen Sci-FiHere’s a brief overview […]

  3. I always watched “Voyage” when I could. I don’t remember ever seeing the other movie, but they’re using “Voyage” props. I googled it up, and it came after the “Voyage” series.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0065556/plotsummary

    I found it laughable in that they’re filling up Fort Knox with gold… so the international bankers can steal it, later! I imagine there isn’t much gold left in reserve, what with the incredible deficit that the US has rung up over the last couple of generations.

    We were blissfully unaware of those things, then, weren’t we?

  4. Don’t forget Gerry and Sylvia Anderson’s SUPERMARIONATION series, Dad! One of my favorites… Captain Scarlet!

    Here’s the ending score for the series…

    http://fr.youtube.com/watch?v=C6gtKPDclfA&feature=related

    I kinda identify with him! 😉

  5. “Time Tunnel” and “Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea” were among my favorites when I was young, together with “Lost in Space.” I liked “Land of the Giants,” too, but not as much.

    I remember the movie. I haven’t seen it in a long time, though.

  6. Highway: I forgot about the Andersons! I loved Fireball XL5 and UFO!
    Especially UFO, I loved those hot Moonbase babes in those sweet, short hot-pants! *tongue dragging on ground, panting profusely!*

    Astroprof: I thought the Lost In Space monsters were a hoot! You can tell they were corny, but that didn’t matter because the ongoing Robot/Dr. Smith comedy routine always made up for it!

  7. The feminists couldn’t even keep their hands off Fireball XL5!

    😆

  8. Highway: I would’ve thought that they preferred Captain Scarlet! LOL!

    Somebody posted how the Andersons built and worked their puppets. Pretty interesting. The Andersons were pretty talented.

  9. Dad2059 —

    Hadn’t logged into my WP.com blog in so long I had to search for the password.

    Anyway, I did see City Beneath the Sea some time ago. It was a pilot, a sort of spin-off of Voyage, built in apparently a future not far ahead of Voyage. Richard Basehart in fact had a cameo as the President of the United States, though they didn’t call him President Nelson. There was something about some highly unstable element called Fissionable Hart that needed gold to moderate it.

    It was terrible. It really was. Stuart Whitman had this funny, tight way of walking through the whole thing that made me sort of wonder about him.

    Most of what Irwin Allen produced was really very silly, and I will say for myself that I watched that stuff only because there was nothing else even remotely interesting in the same vein.

    I will admit it was fun watching Barbara Eden shake her booty in the original Voyage movie.

    (Yes, I said that.)

    Sorry, not a big fan of his series more. As a kid, my family did the 20th Century Fox studio tour, and I did see the sets for Lost in Space, and the Jupiter 2 sitting covered up by a close-fitting tarp in a lot behind some buildings, where it was about to be shot for the third season episode where they went back to Earth, but in the wrong time. Saw the Chariot, too. Yes, I dug it.

    The sets were so tiny — much smaller than they appeared to be in the show.

    This must have been in 1967, because I saw the Icarus from Planet of the Apes also, leaning up against a building, and the zoo set they used in the movie.

    Didn’t see Heston.

    Did see the Batmobile. Don’t remember seeing the Batcave.

    BTW — thanks for the link to my blog.

    Daniel
    The Odd Little Universe of Daniel Brenton

  10. Allen’s stuff was corny when compared to today’s stuff and the model work wasn’t close to being as good as the Andersons, but I think his stuff was supposed to be taken tongue in cheek anyways. Except for Voyage possibly.

    And thank you for allowing me to link to your site. The honor’s mine.

  11. I saw “City Beneath The Sea” when it first ran on NBC back in 1971. As an 11 year old I loved it, but was let down by recycled footage from “Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea”. I know Irwin Allen did this to cut production costs, but the old Flying Sub shots are a bit jarring. To address an earlier post about Allen’s “cheesy” effects, “VTTBOTS” won more than one Emmy for special effects. Howard and Theodore Lydecker’s miniature work still stands the test of time. There is nothing on SF TV today that gives you the same thrill you got when you saw the Flying Sub for the first time. Today the effect would be CGI, back then they shot the model against a real sky using natural lighting. Still looks great in this current age of remakes. The industry could learn a thing or two from some of these old guys.

Leave a Reply

