Happy Next Incarnation Michael Crichton and Sweet Irony

Wikinews:

American author and producer Michael Crichton has died in Los Angeles, California at the age of 66, according to a statement released by his family.

According to Entertainment Tonight, Crichton died after a long and quiet battle with cancer. His family said that his death was “unexpected”.

“While the world knew him as a great storyteller that challenged our preconceived notions about the world around us — and entertained us all while doing so — his wife Sherri, daughter Taylor, family and friends knew Michael Crichton as a devoted husband, loving father and generous friend who inspired each of us to strive to see the wonders of our world through new eyes,” said a statement by his family.

Crichton, who was born in Chicago, Illinois in 1942, was most famous for the writing of his Jurassic Park novels. He also published The Andromeda Strain, both of which went on to be major motion pictures. He also created, and was an active executive producer of the hit television show ER.

The Andromeda Strain was one of my early introductions to science-fiction, I read it in 1972.

That was after I saw the movie though. It helped me understand the book better.

Crichton’s works were always dry reading to me, but I did read most of them.

The last one I read, ‘Prey‘, was particularly dry. I found it very prescient though.

Happy trails Michael, maybe we’ll run across each other on the Wheel next time around.

American author Michael Crichton dies at age 66

____________________________________________

Daily Grail:

Bush and Cheney Impeachable Crimes List

 

Bush has: Cheney has:
  • Lied to Congress and Americans about why he attacked and occupies Iraq.
  • Lied to Congress and Americans about Iraq having weapons of mass destruction.
  • Admitted violating the 4th Amendment by warrantless wiretapping US citizens even before 9/11.
  • Lied to Congress and Americans about alleged ties between Iraq and Al Qaeda.
  • Violated the 8th Amendment and Geneva Conventions by torturing POWs.
  • Openly threatened an attack on Iran in violation of the Constitution’s treaties prohibiting threats of force against a country that has not attacked us domestically.
  • Nullified Congress’s legislative power with signing statements.
  • Established a secret energy group, a violation of open-government laws.
  • Disobeyed subpoenas for data and testimony of witnesses.
  • Revealed the identity of a key CIA master agent, a treasonous act.
  • Commuted the sentence of a felon to obstruct justice.
  • Declared the office of Vice President was not part of the Executive branch.
  • Failed to protect victims of hurricane Katrina.
  • Played a key obstructive role in preventing the air attacks of 9/11.
  • Used taxpayer money to push his Medicare bill.
  • Profited through no-bid contracts awarded to a major defense firm in which he has a financial interest.
  • Used service members to work for the Republican party.
 
  • Was complicit in the 2004 election fraud via rigged voting machines.
 
   
Add these latest high crimes…  
 Bush has:
  •  Stolen at least $29 billion from the Treasury Department to rescue the “sub-prime” mortgage-loan industry.  Only Congress has the power to give out taxpayer money (Art. 1, Sec 8:2).
 

Quote of the Day:

The days of looking the other way while despotic regimes trample human rights, rob their nations’ wealth, and then excuse their failings by feeding their people a steady diet of anti-Western hatred are over.

Dick Cheney demonstrating irony

______________________________

Couldn’t have said it better myself guys!

News Briefs 11/5/08

 we haven’t forgotten about you, Georgie boy

_________________________________________

 

3 responses

  1. Today is my politics (bullshit)-free day, but I’d like to say that I especially enjoyed Jurassic Park, not for the rampant evolutionism, but fantasizing about the possibility of resurrecting ancient life forms, particularly appealed to the adventurer in me.

    I’ve noticed the downturn in entertainment value, aside from the bloodlust that most films provide, nowadays. The latest spate of vampire movies seem to get everyone’s juices going. I guess living with undead politicians and bankers just isn’t enough for folk, they need Hollywood providing other parasitical influences in their lives, too!

  2. This was one case in which the movie was better than the book.

    In the book, everyone died.

    To some people, that’s a more fitting ending I suppose.

    I was going to post something today, but I don’t think I will.

    The ‘no-bullshit’ day is a good idea HW.

    Plus, I just got back from making a couple of trips to the dump, ol’ grand-dad is pretty beat about now….zzzzzzzzzZZZZZZZZZ!!

  3. Dad2059, I love it when you said in this article: “Happy trails Michael” and I especially love the title of it: “Happy Next Incarnation Michael Crichton, and Sweet Irony”. And why? Because in these days, I like to believe that when someone dies, his and/or her spirit lives on, and if that is his/her choice, someone’s spirit can be born in the same life, body and form, only, and hopefully, for him/her, things will go a little different. Also, I hope that if it is possible, and if I can choose it when I die, I hope my spirit can do it if my spirit chooses to do this, and when and if I do, I hope I can get a chance to meet Michael Crichton and know him personally. I know that you think it sounds a little bit out there, but that’s just what I like to believe (I AM MOST CERTAINLY NOT trying to convert any one here), and I am just giving my compliments to you for this article, its title, and its conclusion. Because I, for one, really like this online article that you made. And I really admire it too.

Leave a Reply

